ForFreedoms Billboard, Trenton, NJ

Scripps College: Convocation Address

link to fall 2019 convocation lecture

click image to see video

Absence, Erasure, and Critical Inquiry in the Arts.

On Tuesday, September 3, Scripps College welcomed students, faculty, and staff to campus for the start of the 2019–20 academic year. President and W.M. Keck Presidential Chair Lara Tiedens delivered the opening remarks and recognized faculty recipients of the Mary W. Johnson Faculty Achievement Awards in teaching, scholarship, and service (full list below). She was followed by Amy Marcus-Newhall, vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty, who recognized 2018–19 student and faculty awardees. Ken Gonzalez-Day, Professor of Art and Fletcher Jones Chair in Art, delivered the keynote address, entitled “Absence, Erasure, and Critical Inquiry in the Arts.”

New tenure track faculty were also introduced to the community. New faculty include Theodore Bartholomew, assistant professor of psychology; Tia Blassingame, assistant professor of art (book arts); Christina Edholm, assistant professor of mathematics; Julin Everett, assistant professor of French; Nicholas Kacher, assistant professor of economics; Julia Lum, assistant professor of art history; Sarah Marzen, assistant professor of physics; Janet Sheung, assistant professor of physics ; Douglas Goodwin, Fletcher Jones Scholar in Computation; and Meiver De la Cruz, Consortium for Faculty Diversity Fellow in dance.

Convocation concluded with students, faculty, and staff joining together in song with Associate Professor of Music and Chair, Joint Music Program Charles Kamm, who led the audience in Thy Many Gifts, the Scripps alma mater composed in 1932.

To see original Scripps Fall 2019 Convocation posting